Tuesday, Jun 25, 2019 by Brian LaviageThe state of Texas has enacted tough alcohol-related laws for minors. Because it’s illegal for anyone who’s underage to consume alcohol in Texas, the state has enacted alcohol “zero tolerance” rules for drivers under age 21. This means it’s a criminal offense for anyone under the age of 21 to purchase, attempt to purchase, consume or possess an alcoholic beverage, or operate a motor vehicle with ANY amount of alcohol in their system.
Monday, May 20, 2019 by Brian Laviage
If you were referred to a juvenile court for conduct before the age of 17 – even without being taken into custody by law enforcement before the referral – you have a juvenile record in the state of Texas. This includes any Class A or B misdemeanors, felony offenses or conduct indicating a need for supervision (CINS) like underage drinking, truancy or running away.
Thursday, Feb 28, 2019 by Brian Laviage
Unlike adult criminal cases, juvenile crimes are handled in civil proceedings according to “The Juvenile Justice Code” within the Texas family code. In this system, the court is seeking what it deems as appropriate justice AND rehabilitation for the youth.
Monday, Feb 4, 2019 by Brian Laviage
The Texas Juvenile Justice Department is emerging as a national model for reform.
Thursday, Oct 6, 2016 by Brian Laviage
My 16 year old daughter was caught shoplifting about $60 worth of makeup last weekend. She was charged and is awaiting a court date. This isn’t normal for her (as far as I know) and she said that her friends dared her to do it. I’m obviously upset and disappointed. What can we expect? Is there anything we should do now? I’m personally concerned about her getting accepted into college.
Mike in Southlake, TX